site banner


DWR releases list of communities receiving funding from Phase 1 of the Small Communities Flood Risk Reduction Program

The Small Communities Flood Risk Reduction (SCFRR) Program received 37 applications during the project proposal solicitation period that closed on November 2, 2016. DWR has completed its review and has recommended funding approval for 35 feasibility study proposals. The list of approved project awards was released on March 27, 2017, and finalized on April 14, 2017.

If you have any questions, please contact Nahideh Madankar at

What is the Small Communities Flood Risk Reduction Program?

The Small Communities Flood Risk Reduction Program (Small Communities Program) is a cost-share funding program that provides local assistance to communities with 200 to 10,000 residents that are protected by the State Plan of Flood Control (SPFC). The Small Communities Program was created as a result of the 2012 Central Valley Flood Protection Plan (CVFPP), and is intended to reduce flood risk for small communities. Initially, funding is being provided to study the feasibility of potential flood risk reduction projects.

How does the program work?

Funding will be awarded in multiple phases. Small communities selected to receive funding through the Small Communities Program’s first phase will be awarded funds to complete a feasibility study of flood risk reduction projects. Funding for design and construction will be awarded in subsequent phases. These projects must repair, rehabilitate, reconstruct, or replace SPFC facilities (e.g., levees, weirs, bypasses) and be consistent with CVFPP goals and objectives.

Projects supported by the Small Communities Program are cost-shared between local communities and the State. The minimum State cost-share is 50 percent, but could be increased based on a project’s contribution to multi-benefit objectives, increased protection for State facilities, and increased flood protection for disadvantaged communities.

What's happening with the applications for Phase 1?

The application period for Phase I of the Small Communities Flood Risk Reduction (SCFRR) Program commenced on September 19, 2016, and closed on November 2, 2016. During this time, DWR received 37 project solicitation packages from interested communities. DWR reviewed these applications for eligibility and ranked them for funding in winter 2017. The list of projects approved for funding was released on March 27, 2017.

Who can participate in the program?

Eligible applicants must be communities with 200 to 10,000 residents or counties with land use authority for small communities within areas protected by SPFC facilities. Small Communities Program guidelines (Guidelines) and the PSP will provide additional detailed information regarding eligibility and application requirements when they are finalized and released.

How can I learn more about the program?

If you have a question about the program or want to be added to our mailing list, please send an email to The mailing list will be used to send out announcements about upcoming meetings and workshops, program news, and grant solicitations.